Sharing

 

Sharing share allows you to share login data for a particular site with another person without exposing the password. The two most common uses for Sharing include:

  • Allowing a family member or friend access to a website
  • In a work situation where the company has a login to a 3rd party site

 


 

Important notes for Sharing:

 

  • If the sharer or sharee delete the shared site, the share will be revoked and will disappear from the sharee’s vault.
  • ‘Give’ allows the password to be view-able by the Sharee, and should not be mistaken as giving the data to another user.  As mentioned previously, if a share is deleted by the Sharer, this will remove the share from the Sharee’s Vault.
  • Secure Notes do not offer the ability to hide the password from the sharee.

 


 

Sharing a Site

 

To share a site, open the local ‘My LastPass Vault’ page or log into your LastPass account on https://lastpass.com. Click on the ‘Share’ icon share next to the site you wish to share:

In the “Share Items” dialog box that pops up, enter the email of the person with whom you would like to share this site:

Click ‘Share’ button when you are ready to send the shared site.

If the recipient already has a LastPass account, they will receive an email indicating they have received a Share. The next time they log in to their Online Vault, they will see the shared site listed under the (New Pending Share Offers) Group:

Clicking ‘Accept’ will launch the Accept Shares dialog, where you can send a response message and accept the Share. Clicking ‘Reject’ will cancel the Share, in which case LastPass will notify the sender that the recipient did not accept the Share.

You can also manage your Shares from your Online Vault under the ‘Shares’ tab:

If the user does not have a LastPass account, they will be given an opportunity to create an account so they can receive the shared site login data.

After accepting the Share, you can log into that site the same way you log into all of your other LastPass sites, but you will not be able to view the password (please see note at the bottom of this page).

Any pending changes that need to be accepted to the entry will produce a ‘flag’ icon next to the entry.

share icon

Clicking on this flag, will  allow to view to accept/deny these changes. Note that this will only appear in the Online Vault.

 


 

Important Note Regarding Hidden Passwords:

 

  • Savvy end users could potentially access the password if they capture it using advanced techniques, but LastPass will never be able to access this data because it has been encrypted using their public key.
  • It is also possible to obtain shared passwords using another password manager.
  • LastPass recommends that you use a generated password specific to the site that you’re sharing and not share any passwords that you’re uncomfortable with the recipient obtaining.

 


 

Shared Family Folders

 

  • LastPass Premium users are now able to utilize one Shared Folder to manage and access joint accounts.
  • A Shared Family Folder is a special folder that you can share with family and friends so that any data added to the folder is synced between all the Vaults of those users added to the folder.
  • You can add up to 5 other LastPass users to the Shared Family Folder.
  • Only the creator of the Shared Family Folder must be a LastPass Premium user – any recipients can be free or Premium users.

 


 

Adding a Shared Family Folder

 

First, select “Manage Shared Folders” from your LastPass Vault Actions menu:

Click “Create a New Shared Folder” and name it:

Next, click “Edit” under the “Actions” column next to the folder to add other LastPass users:

After you add other LastPass users to this folder it will appear in your Vault. Your Sharees will receive a confirmation email to accept the share. Once it has been accepted, it will also show in their Vault as Shared-(FolderName):

Give another user “Read-only” access if you do not want them to be able to edit entries:

You can also set their status to “Hide Passwords” so that they cannot view passwords (see note at bottom of this page):

 


 

Adding Sites to a Shared Family Folder

 

In your Vault, drag and drop logins and Secure Notes to the Shared Family Folder. Anything you add to the folder will automatically sync to other users who have been given access to it:

All sites and notes in a Shared Family Folder can be edited edit or deleted delete by those who have administrative access to the folder. Updates are then kept in sync across all family members sharing the folder.

Important Note Regarding Hidden Passwords:

  • Savvy end users could potentially access the password if they capture it using advanced techniques during the login process, but LastPass will never be able to access this data because it has been encrypted using their public key.
  • It is also possible to obtain shared passwords using another password manager.
  • LastPass recommends that you use a generated password specific to the site that you’re sharing and not share any passwords that you’re uncomfortable with the recipient obtaining.

 


 

Watch the Tutorial on Sharing Family Folders: