Editing an Existing Site Entry and Editing Form Fields

At some point, you may find the need to edit an existing site entry in your Vault. While you can do this from your Online Vault and the LastPass Icon dropdown menu, the easiest way is through your Local Vault.

There are two ways to save a site: automatically saving a site, and manually saving a site. Each will result in similar, but slightly different entry when you look to edit these saved sites.

 

Automatically Saved Sites

When you go to Edit an automatically saved site entry in your Vault, the Edit dialog will look like this:

addsite_6

 

The options you are presented include Sharing the site, Deleting the site, tagging as a Favorite, requiring a Master Password reprompt upon use or editing, Never AutoFill, or having the site AutoLogin.  You can also view previously saved usernames and passwords for this site in LastPass.  These links will take you to your Online Vault to view the username and password histories.  One additional option is to Edit Form Fields.  Clicking this option will take you to another edit dialog:editsite_1

 

 

Editing form fields allows you to manipulate and change any fields and data that LastPass may have saved when it automatically recorded the site login credentials.  Sometimes LastPass can accidentally pick up an extra field on a site (like a Search field), which can complicate logins.  Using Edit Form Fields, you can delete any extra data not relevant to the site login.  This ability can be useful when you are having trouble autofilling or autologging into a site entry using LastPass.

 

Manually Saved Sites

Editing a manually saved site entry is as easy as editing an automatically saved site entry. The only difference with manually saved entries is that you will not see a separate ‘Edit Form Fields’ button. The form fields appear directly in the site entry, along with username and password controls. Manually saved entries look like this:editsite_2

 

Manually saved entries will pick up ALL fields on a login page, so manually saving a site and then deleting the extra fields can be another helpful tool for problematic logins by eliminating any variable fields that might interfere with the AutoFill or AutoLogin functions.  Additionally, manually saved entries are static entries and will never automatically try to save an extra field like automatically saved entries sometimes can.  The information you see in the Edit dialog is how the entry will always be unless you change it.

Editing in the Online Vault

To editing a saved entry from the Online Vault, click on the pencil in your Vault:
editsite_3