Editing an Existing Site Entry and Editing Form Fields

 

At some point, you may find the need to edit an existing site entry in your Vault.  Making changes can be made from either the Local Vault via the browser extension, or the Online Vault via the LastPass website.

There are two ways to save a site:

Each will result in similar, but slightly different entries when you look to edit these saved sites.

To Edit an entry, visit your LastPass Vault, find your entry, and click the edit icon  edit for the entry.

 


 

Automatically Saved Sites

 

When you go to Edit an automatically saved site entry in your Vault, the Edit dialog will look like this:

editSite

 

Here you have the options:

  •  share Sharing – To share the entry
  • delete Deleting – To delete the entry
  •  – To set entry as a Favorite

Under the ‘Advanced Settings’ you’ll see:

  • Require Password Reprompt – forces a master password reprompt whenever this entry is edited or used
  • AutoLogin – Forces an autologin when manually visiting the site
  • Disable Autofill – Prevents autofilling when manually visiting the site
  • Edit Form Fields (detailed in the next section)

 


 

Editing Form Fields

 

 Clicking this option will take you to another edit dialog:editsite_1

Allows you to manipulate and change any fields and data that LastPass may have saved when it automatically recorded the site login credentials.  Sometimes LastPass can accidentally pick up an extra field on a site (like a Search field), which can complicate logins.  Using Edit Form Fields, you can delete any extra data not relevant to the site login.  This ability can be useful when you are having trouble autofilling or autologging into a site entry using LastPass.

 


 

Manually Saved Sites

 

Editing a manually saved site entry is as easy as editing an automatically saved site entry. The only difference with manually saved entries is that you will not see a separate ‘Edit Form Fields’ button. The form fields appear directly in the site entry, along with username and password controls. Manually saved entries look like this:

editsite_2
 

Manually saved entries will pick up ALL fields on a login page, so manually saving a site and then deleting the extra fields can be another helpful tool for problematic logins by eliminating any variable fields that might interfere with the AutoFill or AutoLogin functions.  Additionally, manually saved entries are static entries and will never automatically try to save an extra field like automatically saved entries sometimes can.  The information you see in the Edit dialog is how the entry will always be unless you change it.

 


 

Password and Username History

 

If you decide to update your username or password for a particular site, LastPass will log the change. The next time you launch the Edit dialog box from your Online Vault, you will see a historyHistory icon next to the password and/or username fields:

password_history

This allows you to easily track changes to your accounts, especially for those which you should make an effort to change the password on a regular basis:

history2

*Note:  If you edit an existing entry in your Local Vault, you will see an option to view username and password histories.  Clicking these links will take you to your Online Vault and History dialogs.